logo sise

University of York (UK): call for papers su “Debt Sustainability” i prossimi 26-28 marzo 2018

Second European Macrohistory Workshop
March 26-28, 2018, University of York, York, United Kingdom
Main topic: Debt Sustainability

The Department of Economics at the University of York is organizing a “European Macrohistory Workshop”, which will be held in York, UK (March 26-28, 2018).

The workshop – which follows a first such event held in June 2016 at the Macrohistory Lab at the University of Bonn (Prof. Moritz Schularick) – aims to bring together economic historians and macroeconomists. Half of the sessions will be devoted to general topics at the intersection of macroeconomics and economic history, while the other half will focus on debt sustainability as one of the key issues facing developed countries in the medium and long-term. The objective of the workshop is to strengthen further the ties which have developed in recent years to great mutual advantage between economic and financial historians, on the one hand, and macroeconomists and applied economists, on the other.

Key note speakers
Prof. Barry Eichengreen (University of California, Berkeley)
Prof. Ricardo Reis (London School of Economics)

Complete manuscripts or 3-page drafts should be submitted to macrohistory-conference@york.ac.uk<mailto:macrohistory-conference@york.ac.uk> no later than 15th October (in pdf-format). We will acknowledge receipt of submission and the authors of accepted papers will be notified by 30th November.

Accommodation and travel expenses will be covered for programme participants.

Financial support from the Royal Economic Society, the University of York, University College London and the University of Bonn is gratefully acknowledged.

Prof. Carsten Burhop (University of Bonn)
Dr. Matthias Morys (University of York)
Prof. Peter Spencer (University of York and Office of Budget Responsibility)
Dr. Coskun Tuncer (University College London)

Scientific Committee
Prof. Carsten Burhop (University of Bonn)
Prof. Claude Diebolt (University of Strasbourg)
Prof. Rui Esteves (University of Oxford)
Dr. Eric Monnet (Paris School of Economics and Bank of France)
Dr. Matthias Morys (University of York)
Prof. Moritz Schularick (University of Bonn and CEPR)
Prof. Nikolaus Wolf (Humboldt University Berlin and CEPR)